Custom Search


Definitives of 1949-1953

The DDR, Deutsche Demokratische Republik, or German Democratic Republic, as it is called in English was proclaimed on October 7, 1949.  Not too long afterwards, the old Personalities Series definitive postage stamps of the post-war Soviet Occupation Zone were phased out, and definitive postage stamps for the new socialist republic began to appear.  The first definitive postage stamps for the German Democratic Republic all bore the profile of President Wilhelm Pieck.

The five DDR definitive postage stamps shown above were issued between May 1950 and January 1951.  The 12 Pf., 24 Pf., and 1 DM denomination stamps were typographed, the 2 DM denomination stamp was lithographed, and the 5 DM denomination stamp was engraved

All of these stamps have the Michel Wz. 1 - Multiple Flowers watermark.

Beginning in August 1952, a new 5 Pf. denomination was added and  four of the 1949 Wilhelm Pieck definitive stamps were re-issued.  The 5 Pf., 12 Pf., 24 Pf., and 1 DM denominations were typographed.  The 2 DM denomination was lithographed

All of these new stamps are printed on either ordinary or coated papers that have the Michel Wz. 2X - Multiple "D D R" & "Posthorn" (horizontal) watermark, or the Michel Wz. 2Y - Multiple "D D R" & "Posthorn" (vertical) watermark.  Some of the varieties are quite rare.  Please see the Michel catalog for details.

Beginning in September 1952, the Soviet Occupation Zone Personalities Series definitive stamps of 1948 were re-issued.  These re-issued stamps are all typographed

All of these stamps are printed on either ordinary or coated papers that have the Michel Wz. 2X - Multiple "D D R" & "Posthorn" (horizontal) watermark, or the Michel Wz. 2Y - Multiple "D D R" & "Posthorn" (vertical) watermark.  Some of the varieties are very rare.  Please see the Michel catalog for details.

This definitive set features eight portrait designs of famous German socialists, and they are:

  • Kathe Kollwitz (1867-1945)
  • Gebhart Hauptmann (1862-1946)
  • Karl Marx (1818-1883)
  • August Bebel (1840-1913)
  • Friedrich Engels (1820-1895)
  • Georg Hegel (1770-1831)
  • Professor Rudolf Virchow (1821-1902)
  • Ernst Thallman (1886-1944)

During early 1953, the design of the 1 DM and 2 DM denomination definitive stamps was redrawn.  The most obvious differences are the clearer portrait and the solid color numerals.

All of the DDR definitive postage stamps of this period were replaced by the new Five Year Plan definitive series, beginning in August 1953, thus, many of the later issues are quite scarce, especially in mint condition.

eBay Auction and Store Links

Germany - DDR

The following links feature category-focused affiliated seller listings on various eBay sites worldwide. They may enable visitors to shop for and to buy specific items for the particular collecting subject they've just read about. 

The affiliated eBay seller auction lots provided by eBay, Inc. are not the responsibility of the management of this website.  On high priced material, make sure the lots you are buying are properly authenticated.

Remember that the lots on European eBay sites are priced in EUROS.  Shipping charges may be more, and the lots may take longer to arrive.  Also, make sure the foreign seller ships to your country, before bidding on or buying his lot.

Return to German Democratic Republic from
DDR - Definitives of 1949-1953


Photo From : Bundesarchiv

Friedrich Wilhelm Rheinhold Pieck (1876-1960) was a German political activist and Communist politician.

Pieck joined the Communist Party of Germany in 1918, but he soon had to flee into exile.  He returned to Germany in 1922 and became a founding member of International Red Aid.  After the Nazi Party came to power in 1933, he fled to the USSR, where he became active in the Communist Party there.

In 1949, Pieck was elected as the First President of the German Democratic Republic, serving until his death in 1960.  After his death, the office of President was abolished.  His successor, as head of state, was Walter Ulbricht (1893-1973) who served under the title "Chairman of the Council of State".